January 2, 2012

  • Diary Entry

    The holidays didn't suck much.  The kids were happy with their gifts.  I didn't have to go anywhere.  My inlaws came over for Christmas Eve and it was nice and low key and no one got drunk or injured.  (It's scary when that's how you assess things, I know.)

    I worked on the 30th and even though the office closed at noon I stayed working on reports and time records, etc.  I had a lot of end of year stuff and I worried that I would have to come in on the 31st.  It ended up that I got everything done at 4:45.  Perfect.  I freshened my makeup, fixed my hair, and went to meet friends for a New Year's Eve Eve.  It was fan-fucking-tastic.  We got dressed up (some more than others - I came from work) and we drank martinis and tipped our bartenders generously.  Several of the husbands showed up and we went out for burgers and then I came home to my husband.

    We ordered The Mountain Goats albums on vinyl and when I got home Bill was cuing up "Tallahassee" which is our favorite MG album and by far the most dysfunctional.  We made a music video to "No Children" and I crashed.

    New Year's Eve was one of the best days I have had in a long time.  It was a beautiful day here.  The dog and I took a long walk and then I finally got the leaves raked up in the front yard (5 bags of yard waste - oof).  We had sparkling wine and cheese on the front porch in the late afternoon sun.  We went to see "The Descendants" ($18 for 2 tickets and then $10 for 2 pops?!!  My usual theater is closed for the Christmas season - it's affiliated with the University and it's way cheaper and sells coffee for $1.  But it's Oscar season, so I will start seeing mainstream movies and bitching about ticket prices.  It distracts me from how much I dislike mainstream movies in general but go anyway.).  The theater was full of middle aged people so we knew we were in the right spot.  We went home to make an amazing dinner together - greek potatoes, lamb steaks, and green beans.  Amazing wine.

    I have the day off and everyone is asleep.  The main floor of my house is clean and the washing machine is running.  The pumpkin muffins and coffee smell great.  This is why I want to be a stay at home mom.

    But like with everything else - I am more than one thing.  I want crazy nights out with girls and quiet nights in with my guy and long walks with my dog and mom time with my kids.

Comments (3)

  • How I agree with your last comment. Crazy girl nights, quiet guy nights, and mom time. Dont we all deserve that?

  • How did you like The Descendants? I thought George did a decent job and even made me cry!

    How I wish I had a career like you.
    Instead I'm an empty-nesting SAHM. (Albeit, with a veritably  useless master's degree in English.) 

  • @MyKi_Whatzerface - I did not like the voice over - thought it was too much.  George did a fantastic job.  I really liked the story.  And the set designer should get an award.  I have never seen clutter so perfectly captured in a movie.  The yellow quilt had a frayed edge.  Everything looked like my house or my friends' house (well, except for the Hawaii background).

Comments are closed.

Post a Comment